Age old, traditional martial art, adapted to the contemporary perspective

There are four major stages in Kalarippayattu practice

  • Meithari
  •  Complete body sequence with different stretches, stances, leaps and jumps to develop control of the body, balance, agility and speed
  • Kolthari
  • Next stage in training is with wooden weapons. Here the student learns and practices with another person as in a combat. There are three wooden weapons – Long Stick ( Kettukari ), 3 span length stick ( Muchaan ), elephant trunk shaped stick ( Otta ).
  • Angathari
  • This is the use of sharp and lethal metal weapons. By now the practitioner would have a good understanding of their strengths and are more aware of the movements. The different metal weapons are Dagger, Sword and Shield, Spear, and Urumi ( Flexible Sword ).
  • Verumkai
  • Bare handed techniques which includes complex situations of attack and defence. Student here is an advanced practitioner.

Each stage has its own set of sequences and methods of wielding, improving focus, flexibility and agility.
Precise use of language, clear demonstration of posture, meticulous sequences of poses and movements, specific teaching points that enhance understanding of Kalari.

  1. Silambam – Alankara Silambam and Por Silambam
  2. Adimurai
  3. Kuthuvarisai